Book Reviews

Love Anthony – Lisa Genova
http://lisagenova.com
Reviewed: 09/09/2015

41GhotjxdrL

Book Description
After 14 years of marriage and three children, Beth Ellis discovers her husband is having an affair with a local waitress. Feeling heartbroken, rejected, and alone, Beth wants to recapture the independent, creative spirit she used to be and finds the inspiration to pick up pen and paper once again. What emerges is a startling new voice, one that will become a balm for her wounded soul. Newly separated Olivia Donatelli has just moved into her family’s rental cottage. Struggling to understand the unraveling of her marriage, she is also desperate to make sense of her eight-year-old autistic son Anthony’s short life and accidental death. A chance encounter between these two women develops into an unexpected and meaningful friendship, giving one writer the opportunity to find her voice and a grieving mother a chance to finally understand her son.

I picked up this book because I had read Left Neglected a few years ago and really enjoyed the book. However, I am reviewing this book before I have finished it (because i don’t think i have the motivation to finish it!!) I am disappointed with the book to say the least. The characters have no substance and the story is flat and repetitive. I understand what the writer tried to achieve by showing the story through the autistic view point, but i didn’t like the way it was comprised.

The other thing i didn’t like that the author kept doing was mentioning the ‘dog in the night garden’ book, it was like she had a deal to name drop the book, it was unnecessary and didn’t add anything to the story!

Unfortunately I was looking forward to reading this book and am sad to say that I don’t think I will finish it. I wouldn’t recommend the book to my peers. sorry 😦 I don’t like giving bad reviews to books as I realise how much work is put into it, but this was not the best book.

Ranking 3/10

—————————————————————————————–

My House – Alex Hourston
https://twitter.com/alex_hourston?lang=en-gb
Reviewed: 10/08/2015

Unknown

This book was bought for Holiday, however was read before I had even made it to the airport! It was a nice read with some themes which where interesting and that had not been covered in previous fiction books I have read. The book was based around the theme human trafficking however also considered alcohol abuse, a mothers temper, family break ups and a child been taken from her mother at birth from her farther!!

Book Description
Maggie lives a life of careful routines and measured pleasures. But everything changes when, walking through Gatwick a few days shy of her fifty-eighth birthday, a young woman approaches her and whispers a single word: ‘Help.’
Maggie responds, and in that moment saves a stranger, earning Anja her freedom and ensuring the arrest of a brutal trafficker.
But when the story gets picked up by the papers, Margaret is panicked by the publicity, as well as the strange phone calls she begins to receive.
Meanwhile Anja makes contact. She wants to thank her rescuer, but quickly insinuates herself into Maggie’s life.
As her relationship with Anja intensifies, Maggie begins to reveal, in increments, what it is she has been hiding. As a picture of her past takes shape, we are drawn into a slippery moral maze in which every choice is compromised. Maggie’s account is faithful, but she will keep you guessing about what really happened until the very end

I thought that this book was going to be more about he incident itself and was shocked to see that the author had skipped over this so quickly. I felt that Alex could have brought more to the trafficking incident as i didn’t feel it was explained fully. However Alex nicely described the insular life of Maggie the main character and i felt as a reader you really understood Maggie’s ‘quiet life’.

The relationship between Maggie and Anja was odd.. (I thought) and i did not like Anja. I recognised that her character had gone through huge hardship however i felt she was overly comfortable in Maggie’s house. I thought that Anja took advantage of Maggie’s kind nature and was selfish in a few moments throughout the book. However it was nice to read a story of 2 people helping each other out.

I enjoyed the way Alex explained the life of Maggie through narration at different parts of the book, drip feeding important aspects of her history. (SPOILER) The moment you find out she slaps her own daughter is quite a poignant moment, which shocks and surprises you.

The final part of this book (SPOILER) was a nice surprise, although Anja was selfish to contact her daughter it was nice to see that Maggie would no longer be a lone wolf but have contact finally with her daughter.

Overall I think it was a great read and thank Alex for a relaxing couple of days before my holiday!!

Rating: 8/10

Happy Reading
Em

————————————————————————————————————–

Second Life – S.J Watson
http://www.sjwatson-books.com/
Reviewed: 10/08/2015

Unknown

I loved the look of this thriller, however I was nervous about buying this book as ‘Before I Go To Sleep’ S.J Watson’s last novel was not brilliant. Although it was a enjoyable read which was saved by the last 50 pages.

Book Description
The sensational new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep . . .
She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger.
She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything.
She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control.
She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin.
She’s living two lives. She might lose both …

The book description of Second Life intrigued me, I enjoyed reading the first few chapters however by this point I had decided I didn’t really like the main character Julia. She came across as extremely self involved and selfish who didn’t listen to any of her friends or families advice. Although I didn’t like her character I was intrigued to see what had happened to her sister (which you are told in the first few chapters has died – which Julia thinks is suspicious and defiantly a murder).

As Julia investigates what has happened to her sister she forgets her original mission and become involved in a online relationship. For a few chapters the book goes from thriller to ’50 shades’ which quite frankly… is boring. I would have liked to have learnt more about the other characters like her son and husband than read a few chapters of the same old stuff.

However, I was pleased to see the book then returned back to the point and the last few chapters become extremely exciting and the story peaks to a brilliant finale.

I would recommend this book to friends, however I would not rush to read it again.

Rating: 7/10
N.b without the great ending the book would be 5/10

Happy Reading
Em

————————————————————————————————————–

You Me & Other people -Fionnuala Kearney
https://twitter.com/fionnualatweets
Reviewed: 10/08/2015

24962805

This was the last book i chose to read on holiday, it was a ‘new Author’ recommendation from a well known bookseller. I chose to read this book last probably because I was not expecting much from it. However… I enjoyed this book!! 🙂

Book Description
The stunning debut novel from Fionnuala Kearney – already a Top Ten Irish Times bestseller
THEY SAY EVERY FAMILY HAS SKELETONS IN THEIR CLOSET . . .
But what happens when you open the door and they won’t stop tumbling out?
For Adam and Beth the first secret wasn’t the last, it was just the beginning.
You think you can imagine the worst thing that could happen to your family, but there are some secrets that change everything.
And then the question is, how can you piece together a future when your past is being rewritten?

 
I find that when reading books I really connect with on or two characters, throughout this book I connected with Beth (the main character) and her best friend. Adam who was beth’s husband I found was hard to connect with, I just thought he was a bit of a muppet!! However later in the book his behaviour was explained, although i was a bit fed up with his attitude by the end of the book and wanted him to just get a grip!!

I thought the book was brilliant at intertwining lots of different stories and quite thought provoking at times… making you consider ‘what would I do?’.

I would recommend this book as another easy read for holidays. However I would struggle to read this back home as to be honest it was quite slow and i remember thinking, this is getting a bit boring…and then something would happen 🙂

Rating = 6.5/10

Happy Reading 🙂
Em

————————————————————————————————————–

I Do Not Sleep – Judy Finnigan
http://blog.whsmith.co.uk/judy-finnigan-q-not-sleep/
Reviewed 10/08/2015

Judy-Finnigan-I-Do-Not-Sleep-cover

Book Description
Do not stand at my grave and weep;
I am not there. I do not sleep.

There is nothing more powerful than a mother’s love.

Five years ago, Molly Gabriel lost her twenty-year-old son, Joey, to a terrible sailing accident. His empty boat was washed ashore on the rocks, but his body was never found.
Now, Molly has returned to the sands of Cornwall haunted by his disappearance, unable to accept he is gone. Joey was an experienced sailor and died on a calm sea – things just don’t add up and Molly cannot let it go. Desperate for answers, she turns to Joey’s best friend, Ben, to try and find out what really happened that day…

 

I chose this book because of the links to the South West coastline, not only have I spent a lot of time here as a child but I now also reside in a city in this part of the UK. The book really takes you back and draws you in to the villages and beaches that Molly the main character visits with her family. 🙂

The book was a great read. After reading the first chapter I felt like I was in the middle of the book already familiar with the charecters and wanting to read on to find out what was happening. The rest of the book continued with a sense of flow. lots of little new pieces of information which helped you understand both the main character (and the sense of her loss) but also the feelings of her family. The book really highlighted how grief can effect people differently.

I loved the relationship which develops between Molly and Josie, Josie is a lady who lives in cornwall and has also had to deal with challenging events throughout her life. The friendship which develops shows how even throughout adulthood we can make the most wonderful friends 🙂

I was unsure about the Len’s character (a cornish charmer), this may be because its out of the norm and didn’t really fit with the beginning of the book. However as the book went on i became more conformable with Len and his input in the story.

Finally, Although a very sad theme the book is still a easy read and a great book for a summer holiday. I would recommend this to any female friend out there 🙂

Rating = 8/10

Happy Reading 🙂
Em

————————————————————————————————————–

Daughter – Jane Shemilt
https://janeshemilt.wordpress.com
Reviewed 13/01/2015

article-2750566-207FE03C00000578-517_306x460

This book was given to me shortly after christmas from my mum. 🙂 She had it on her bedside table about 3 months ago and I had spotted it and mentioned it looked good, so when i returned home for christmas it was left on my bedside table ready to enjoy.

The story was so captivating, I really felt as if i was living the story. I think this may have been helped by the locations chosen in the book. I have visited friends in Bristol a lot and I used to go on holiday in a little village in dorset so know the area well. However I also liked the characters and thought the story was brilliantly addictive 🙂

Book Description
Jenny is a successful family doctor, the mother of three great teenagers, married to a celebrated neurosurgeon.
But when her youngest child, fifteen-year-old Naomi, doesn’t come home after her school play, Jenny’s seemingly ideal life begins to crumble. The authorities launch a nationwide search with no success. Naomi has vanished, and her family is broken.
As the months pass, the worst-case scenarios—kidnapping, murder—seem less plausible. The trail has gone cold. Yet for a desperate Jenny, the search has barely begun. More than a year after her daughter’s disappearance, she’s still digging for answers—and what she finds disturbs her. Everyone she’s trusted, everyone she thought she knew, has been keeping secrets, especially Naomi. Piecing together the traces her daughter left behind, Jenny discovers a very different Naomi from the girl she thought she’d raised

I liked how Jane managed to describe each of the characters witch lots of depth even though the story was written through the eyes of jenny. Jenny’s Character was really easy to associate with, as a training health professional I really understood how busy her life had become. I am not sure I liked all parts of her and was surprised by her personal story which occurs at a very difficult time. I suppose this just highlights how even when the worst happens life still has to go on..?

I really really enjoyed reading this book, I didn’t however like the end.. I was sad not to know what happened, however i suppose this leaves the opportunity open for a 2nd book.. Which would be Amazing!!

The lasting message from this book was that ‘we should all listen to each other more’. life is extremely busy, however i think Jane was trying to tell us that we need to make time for those who are important to us and listen.

In life its easy to think your listening…

Rating 9/10

————————————————————————————————————–

The Recruit Robert Muchmore
http://www.muchamore.com
reviewed 31/07/2014 

Unknown

Brilliant book from my childhood!! 🙂 Robert Muchmores Recruit is Number 1 in a series based on secret agents, all of which who are under the age of 17! Such a good series which kept me hooked for years. I think it was really aimed at boys but i loved this series and really thought that it developed with the readers age, each book becoming more challenging to read. I would recommend this to anyone Child or Adult 🙂

Book Description
CHERUB agents are highly trained, extremely talented–and all under the age of seventeen. For official purposes, these agents do not exist. They are sent out on missions to spy on terrorists, hack into crucial documents, and gather intel on global threats—all without gadgets or weapons. It is an exceptionally dangerous job, but these agents have one crucial advantage: adults never suspect that teens are spying on them.

James is the latest CHERUB recruit. He’s a bit of a troublemaker, but he’s also brilliant. And CHERUB needs him. James has no idea what to expect, but he’s out of options. Before he can start in the field he must first survive one hundred grueling days of basic training, where even the toughest recruits don’t make it to the end…

I loved this book as it was something completely different to what I had previously read as a child. It was exciting and captivating, the story was continually developing and the where always new characters to explore.

I liked how the books had continuing themes but each had a different mission, as a child this was great as it meant you could leave gaps between reading the books but not loose the complete plot.

I loved loved loved this book and the series, however I’m really sad and slightly embarrassed to say I never finished the series.. one day I hope to complete (and look forward to) completing the mission 🙂

 Rating = 8/10

 

———————————————————————————————————-

Before I Go To Sleep – S J Watson

www.sjwatson-books.com

Reviewed 14/07/14
images
I chose this book a couple of weeks ago when i was about to finish Before We Met, it took me ages to choose but eventually picked this up as the description looked great. When I got to the till the guy at the counter said it was a great book with some excellent twists! unfortunately i have been quite disappointed with book and don’t think i would recommend it to read…

Book Description
Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love — all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.
The thought behind this book is brilliant, I love the idea however the delivery i felt was poor. The book was really slow and I felt like it was too repetitive. I understand that the main character Christine has lost her memory so every day she has to learn who she is but (therefore Christine has to repeatedly read about her life) I felt as the reader you didn’t have to endure this too..
Then ending is great – I cant say what happens but its clever. The characters in the book are chosen well and i like the way it takes a while to learn about each one. my favioirte character i think is Ben – and love how throughout the book you don’t know if you should trust him.

overall its a OK read however quilt tedious, I did feel let down as it looked great 😦
Rating = 4/10
———————————————————————————————–

One Step Too Far – Tina Seskis

tinaseskis.com/
Reviewed 13/07/2014

17404760

I really enjoyed this book, started it in the sun in my back garden and finished on the beach in Thailand :). I was drawn to this book initially by the cover, then noticed the main character was also called Emily and I was sold ( sad I know!!). However it was a great decision because the book was superb!!

Book Description;
An apparently happy marriage. A beautiful son. A lovely home. So what makes identical twin Emily Coleman get up one morning and walk right out of her life? How will she survive? And what is the date that looms, threatening to force her to confront her past? No-one has ever guessed her secret. Will you?

Emily runs away from manchester to the bright lights of London leaving her husband Ben behind. When Emily arrives in London she soon moves into a shared house, changes her name to ‘Cat’ and befriends a women called Angel. 
I loved Angels character she was amazing!! Defiantly a women with issues of her own but a great friend to Emily Angel lives in the same house as Emily and takes her under her wing when she first arrives.

The book follows Emily (& Angels) life in London through the eyes of Emilys character whilst giving snap shots of her past both through her own memories and chapters written about some of the other characters like Ben and Angel

Emilys sister Caroline is also a brilliant character in the book, the hopeless (Twin) who has always been the black sheep in the family with lots of problems of her own. I love the way the book highlights the relationship between the two characters and the love hate relationship they both share.
[ Don’t Read if you haven’t read the book]

I like the twist towards the end of the book, which is very unexpected and leads to Ben finding Emily. I like the fact the book highlights that the is no point running away from your problems but instead you should tackle them face on. Great Moral and Great Read 🙂

I would 100% recommend this book to others especially if you like twists and turns 🙂

Rating = 7/10

———————————————————————————————–

Bridget Jones – Mad About The Boy – Helen Fielding
http://www.penguin.com/author/helen-fielding/1000019011
Reviewed 09/07/2014

Unknown

This was a perfect read after i finished a 100 Pieces Of Me as I knew the characters and felt like i was diving back into a story which already felt familiar to me. This I needed after such a lovely book before. Mad About the Boy was brilliant and I read it over 2 sittings of about 6 hours 🙂 it was funny, surprising whilst still keeping the characters true to themselves ( this is something which does annoy me if I read a series of books, when the author changes a character too much so it doesn’t seem like them) Helen got this spot on moving Bridget into a different stage in life but keeping her character true.

Book Description
This is the number one bestseller. Is it morally wrong to have a blow-dry when one of your children has head lice? Is technology now the fifth element? Or is that wood? Is sleeping with someone after 2 dates and 6 weeks of texting the same as getting married after 2 meetings and 6 months of letter writing in Jane Austen’s day? Pondering these, and other modern dilemmas, Bridget Jones stumbles through the challenges of single-motherhood, tweeting, texting and rediscovering her sexuality in what some people rudely and out datedly call ‘middle age’. The long-awaited return of a much-loved character, Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy is timely, tender, touching, witty, wise and bloody hilarious.

 

Mad About The Boy focuses on the challenges of being a single parent whilst still having individual needs. I think Helen conveys this really well and as a young adult with no children I still felt like i could empathise with Bridget. The book highlights the struggles of family life really well, i.e day to day problems (setting the dinner on fire) to much greater issues such as grief communication. I liked how Helen highlights the competition and petty behaviour school parents can convey and found it funny how Bridget dealt with this.

Without giving the end away, my favourite character is (I can’t remember his name) the 30 year old she dates. Bridget meets him on twitter (haha) and after much tweeting and flirting they decide to go on a date. I love the way Helen has brought modern day dating into the Jones series (which shows you can have a relationship which is normal form meeting online) However I really like the way it shows you can be happy with lots of different people and that the isn’t just one person (M.D) you can be happy with.

I didn’t overly like the end I thought it was; A – a bit cheesy, B – a bit rushed. But.. thats Helen all over, more cheese the better. 

When deciding the rating to give this book i looked at others reviews and was sad to see that people have not reviewed this very well at all, the book has really seemed to divided opinion but i loved it 🙂

Rating = 7/10


—————————————————————————————————
The One You Love – Paul Pilkington – (Free on iTunes)

paulpilkington.com/
Reviewed 8/07/2014

images

The One You Love isn’t the best thriller I have read (however it was ok considering it was a free book on iTunes). The book kept my interest right to the end and I would recommend to others especially as its a free read.

Book Description 

Emma Holden’s nightmare has just begun. Her fiancé vanishes, leaving the battered and bloodied body of his brother in their London apartment. Someone is stalking her, watching her every move. And her family are hiding a horrifying secret; a secret that threatens all those she loves. In a desperate race against time, Emma must uncover the truth if she ever wants to see her fiancé alive again.
The story starts off great, one which you can really imagine – Emma on her hen night (out with the girls getting drunk) Whilst her Fiancé Dan (who is meant to be at his stag night) goes missing. Emma gets a phone call from the other stags because Dan has not arrived to his stag party. When Dan doesn’t answer his phone Emma knows something is wrong… Emma heads home to look for Dan but instead finds his brother (still alive) in their apartment.

Throughout the book Emma tries to track down her fiancé (even when the police think he may have tried to kill his brother) and work out why Dan may have disappeared. The book takes a few twists and keep you guessing what might of happened. I didn’t really like Emma I thought she was a bit of an idiot.

I have to say I did enjoy this book but.. I felt like it got a bit ‘silly’ and unbelievable towards the end and made me look forward to finishing the book as I didn’t really like the story anymore. I feel this is a shame as it could have been a great book. 

I would recommend this book, its worth a read but I wouldn’t say its the best book I have picked up.

 



Ratings
First 2/3 of book = 6/10
Last 1/3 of book = 4/10
Average = 5/10

 

————————————————————————————————————

 

Before We Met – Lucie Whitehouse
https://twitter.com/LWhitehouse5
Reviewed 05/07/2014

513HUoaKjkL
This is the first review i have wrote straight after finishing the book (so hopefully  a little more detailed and heartfelt). I was defiantly attracted to the book by the front cover ( a rose which is shattered into tiny little pieces on a dark background with bright white writing ‘before we met’ ) … however the description on the back was brief but intriguing so I picked it up along with a couple of other books and went of home for a cup of earl grey 🙂

Book Description
A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage.
Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness
Until the day her husband fails to come home . . .
can you ever really know what happened before you met?

I started reading Before We Met about 5/6 days ago, it has taken so long to read not because it was a slow read (it was a page turner!!) but because I have been busy setting this blog up… which has been great fun but has stopped me reading this amazing book. 

The book starts and Hannah is driving to Heathrow Airport (in a storm) to pick up her husband (Mark) who was meant to be on a flight from america, however he doesn’t come home… brilliant, the book has you hooked from chapter one! Your thinking poor Hannah he has left her, or poor Hannah something has happened to him. The first few chapters take you through the weekend in which Hannah begins to discover things are not what they seem!

Lucie Whitehouse is great she slowly drip feeds the reader information through Hannah’s discoveries, you find yourself really empathising with Hannah. This said, Hannah’s character did frustrate me as she did things which set herself up to fail which you just wouldn’t do… (the kind of things you see people do in horror movies and you think to yourself… well you just brought that on yourself love..

The Story was great I loved the relationship Lucie created between Hannah and Mark and the uncertainty Hannah & the reader felt throughout the whole book. However I didn’t like the ending i thought it was incredibly rushed and felt quite deflated after what was quite a dramatic few chapters prior to the last. I am not sure what she could of added but I am left feeling ..oh is that it…

** Dont read if you haven’t read the book**

.. 
I loved the twist at the end with Mark and his brother (mark being the one who killed Hermione) however I kind of wish that Nick had survived as although you where meant to hate them both by the end I couldn’t help but feel Nick had paid already for his crime and that he should have been given the chance to change his way.

All in all i loved the book and it has totally got me into Thrillers… I would recommend this to everyone its amazing i LOVED IT 🙂

Rating = 9/10

 

———————————————————————————————————-

 

Pictures of Lilly – Paige Toon – (Free book from Itunes)

http://www.paigetoon.com/
Reviewed
05/07/2014

Unknown
Pictures of Lilly is one of the only books I have read on tablet/phone, I much prefer paperback, I don’t know why, maybe the physical presence of the book, or the smell of a new book. However I am glad i plucked the courage up to read on screen as this book was ‘Lovely’ – this is the only way i can describe this book, just a Lovely book 🙂

 

Book Description;
‘Will you marry me?’ I think of you, then. I think of you every day. But usually in the quietest part of the morning, or the darkest part of the night. Not when my boyfriend of two years has just proposed. I look up at Richard with his hopeful eyes. ‘Lily?’ he prompts. It’s been ten years, but it feels like only yesterday that you left. How can I say yes to Richard with all my heart when most of it has always belonged to you? I take a deep breath and will myself to speak…Ten years ago when Lily was just sixteen, she fell in love with someone she really shouldn’t have fallen in love with. Now, living in Sydney and engaged to another man, she can’t forget the one that got away. Then her past comes back to haunt her, and she has to make a decision that will break her heart – and the heart of at least one of the men who love her.

Pictures of Lilly is based on the love life of Lilly, the main bulk of the book is set in Australia which she is moved to at the age of 14/15 by her mother who has ‘fallen in love’ with another man. Lilly’s Mum has had lots of relationships and you get the impression that Lilly doesn’t think the relationship will last, However when Lilly finally begins to settle she starts to have a good time. Lilly while in Adeline worked on a conservation park I loved this part of the book as Paige really described the park well which added a nice twist to a usual romance novel.
I loved Lilly’s Character and even though she was 16 for the main part of the book i found it still really easy to relate to her and loved reading the book through her view point. I loved how Paige reminded the readers how teenagers see love so simply without worrying about the complications of the bigger picture. (Don’t want to give too much away)

The second half of the book is set in Sydney which i actually (weirdly) felt it was more difficult to connect with Lilly’s character even though she was closer in age to me. What I also felt was weird was that she was so different to the 16 year old Lilly, I realise people change but I’m not sure if its that much..

Overall, I did enjoy this book, if you enjoy ChickLit then you will enjoy this read 🙂



Rating 7/10

 

———————————————————————————————————–

 

The Island – Victoria Hislop
http://www.victoriahislop.com/
Reviewed 04/07/2014

Unknown

 

I loved this book, was the prefect read for the time and place, on holiday in Turkey (Marmaris) However I’m sad to say as this was.. 2 years ago I can’t  remember a lot of the detail therefore this review will be short (but it was a great book so wanted to document it).

 

Book Description 
On the brink of a life-changing decision, Alexis Fielding longs to find out about her mother’s past. But Sofia has never spoken of it. All she admits to is growing up in a small Cretan village before moving to London. When Alexis decides to visit Crete, however, Sofia gives her daughter a letter to take to an old friend, and promises that through her she will learn more.
Arriving in Plaka, Alexis is astonished to see that it lies a stone’s throw from the tiny, deserted island of Spinalonga – Greece’s former leper colony. Then she finds Fotini, and at last hears the story that Sofia has buried all her life: the tale of her great-grandmother Eleni and her daughters and a family rent by tragedy, war and passion. She discovers how intimately she is connected with the island, and how secrecy holds them all in its powerful grip…

The Island was such a lovely read (even though not what I would normally go for.. Not big on history) It was actually great to learn about the history of crete and the effect that leprosy had on the local community. I also enjoyed learning about the invasion of the Germans and the effect it might have had on the local communities.
Brilliant holiday read sat in the sun with a Beer and view of the mountains from the beach i would recommend this book too all. however be warned its not a easy read (due to the greek words :)) and took me longer than expected to read… but its very enjoyable

Rating 6/10

 

———————————————————————————————————–

 

Perfect People – Peter James
http://www.peterjames.com/
Reviewed 04/07/2014

perfect-people-1

Peter James Perfect People was nail biting all the way through, quite a sinister thriller because the subject matter ‘Human Genetics’  becoming more and more likely in the future. I think because of the topic it became more and more captivating as you read the book.  I have never read a Peter James book but I loved the way he wrote and will defiantly look for another book by him soon!!

Book Description 
John and Naomi Klaesson are grieving the death of their four-year-old son from a rare genetic disorder. They desperately want another child, but when they find out they are both carriers of a rogue gene, they realize the odds of their next child contracting the disease are high. Then they hear about geneticist Doctor Leo Dettore. He has methods that can spare them the heartache of ever losing another child to any disease – even if his methods cost more than they can afford. His clinic is where their nightmare begins. They should have realized that something was wrong when they saw the list. Choices of eye colour, hair, sporting abilities. They can literally design their child. Now it’s too late to turn back. Naomi is pregnant, and already something is badly wrong . . .
This book was amazing! It was so dark you couldn’t put it down, every page made you want to turn the next whilst the whole time questioning what you would do if you where win Johns and Naomi’S shoes. J & N actually only want a ‘designer baby’ to irradiate the chance of a genetic disease its prone too, (This I feel most humans could relate too in the sense its for survival purposes) however the book leads them in another direction which is truly scary.  Brilliant.

Unfortunately due to the nature of the book i can’t say too much more as i don’t want to spoil what happens, BUT what i will say is go and read this book… its truly eye opening.

my one complaint about this book is that i felt the end was rushed, the story was moving along quite nicely then bam! END! I felt like i was grasping for more and when i put the book down the story wasn’t quite over.. but maybe this was his way of bringing out the a sequel?

Rating = 7/10

 

———————————————————————————————————–

 

100 Pieces Of Me – Lucy Dillon
https://twitter.com/lucy_dillon
Reviewed 04/07/2014

a-hundred-pieces-of-me-u69

Brilliant book which I read the large majority of whilst on a 5 hour coach journey, I don’t think I put it down for longer than 10 minuets at a time! The main message from the book reminded the reader that you don’t need to have lots of stuff (be materialistic) to be happy, but what is important are the people around you! 🙂

Book Description
Letters from the only man she’s ever truly loved.
A keepsake of the father she never really knew.
A blue glass vase that catches the light on a grey day.
Gina Bellamy is starting again, after a few years she’d rather forget. But the belongings she’s treasured for so long don’t seem to fit who she is now.
So Gina makes a resolution. She’ll keep just a hundred special items – the rest can go.
But that means coming to terms with her past and learning to embrace the future, whatever it might bring . . .

I have to admit that the description didn’t do the book justice and it took me a couple of visits to the book shop to actually buy this book, but I am glad I did. This book is perfect for a holiday read or summer read, its a easy read and makes you feel good about life 🙂 It makes you really think personally about your own life and question what you would keep if you could only have a 100 items.

The book starts where Gina has split up from her husband (who I thought I would hate) who had not been in love with Gina for a while, its ok because the feeling is mutual.  Gina moves to her own apartment and starts to declutter her life, I really like this idea and it helps her regain her independence, what I didn’t like was that it suggested that you can’t have any independence within relationships/marriage which I think is a sad opinion.

I love the twist with the push bike I think thats great and adds a nice touch to the rest of the book. I also like the way that the book flits back from present to past so you can learn how Gina has found herself where she is in the present. Equally I didn’t like the story from her past and found myself skimming over parts as i just wasn’t interested in those characters and looked forward to when it was going to turn back to the present moment.

I really loved reading this book and recommended it to others, it has also inspired me to pick up a few more books from Lucy Dillon in the future 🙂 …

Rating= 7/10

 

———————————————————————————————————–

 

One Moment, One Morning – Sarah Rayner
http://www.thecreativepumpkin.co.uk
Reviewed 03/07/2014

10495005_10152686587798455_3980341939512132436_o

I thought I would start by writing about one of the best books I have ever read; One Moment, One Morning by Sarah Rayner. I read this book about 2 years ago and honestly was the book that got me back into reading. The Cover attracted me to the book (bad i know).. Tea cups on a window ledge.. (Who doesn’t love Tea) But the description was equally great;

The Book Description
The Brighton to London line. The 07:44 train. Carriages packed with commuters.
A woman applies her make-up. Another occupies her time observing the people around her. A husband and wife share an affectionate gesture. Further along, a woman flicks through a glossy magazine.
Then, abruptly, everything changes: a man has a heart attack, and can’t be resuscitated; the train is stopped, an ambulance called.
For at least three passengers on the 07:44 on that particular morning, life will never be the same again.
Lou witnesses the man’s final moments. Anna and Lou share a cab when they realise the train is going nowhere fast. Anna is Karen’s best friend.
And Karen? Karen’s husband is the man who dies.
Telling the story of the week following that fateful train journey, One Moment, One Morning is a stunning novel about love and loss, about family and – above all – friendship. A stark reminder that, sometimes, one moment is all it takes, it also reminds us that somehow, and despite everything, life can and does go on.

 

If I am honest I can’t remember everything which happend as I read it so long ago but i remember finding it really hard to pick up another book after finishing it. (This I think is always a sign of a great read)

What i do remember is that i read it in 2 days 🙂 and they where a lovely couple of days spent in the flat whilst it was raining (typical english autumn). I drank copious amounts of earl grey and watched the rain whilst all cosy with my book 🙂
I felt that the story was continuously moving forward, this may have been because it was set over a week but there was no point in the book where I was ‘bored’. I liked that it was set over a week, it felt like you where moving through the week with the characters. I Iiked the fact it was set over Brighton and London as I have visited both cities a lot and know both places quite well so I felt I could associate well with the setting and characters. I loved all the characters and wanted to know what would happen to them all so when the book ended i was gutted. (so was extremely excited when she brought out The Two Week Wait!)

I have read so many books since and I don’t think any of them beat it.. it had me laughing and crying (this I haven’t done when reading many books). The most memorable ‘scene’ (is this what you call it in books?) was when Karen told her 2 children that their dad had died and that he wouldn’t be around anymore.. (this was one of the times i cried). what I loved most about this book was that it reminded me that even when life can be so cruel, humanity can be twice as kind!!

I Loved this book and would recommend it to everyone (Please read it!!)  🙂

Rating = 9/10

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s