Second Life

Second Life – S.J Watson
http://www.sjwatson-books.com/
Reviewed: 10/08/2015

Unknown

I loved the look of this thriller, however I was nervous about buying this book as ‘Before I Go To Sleep’ S.J Watson’s last novel was not brilliant. Although it was a enjoyable read which was saved by the last 50 pages.

Book Description
The sensational new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep . . .
She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger.
She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything.
She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control.
She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin.
She’s living two lives. She might lose both …

The book description of Second Life intrigued me, I enjoyed reading the first few chapters however by this point I had decided I didn’t really like the main character Julia. She came across as extremely self involved and selfish who didn’t listen to any of her friends or families advice. Although I didn’t like her character I was intrigued to see what had happened to her sister (which you are told in the first few chapters has died – which Julia thinks is suspicious and defiantly a murder).

As Julia investigates what has happened to her sister she forgets her original mission and become involved in a online relationship. For a few chapters the book goes from thriller to ’50 shades’ which quite frankly… is boring. I would have liked to have learnt more about the other characters like her son and husband than read a few chapters of the same old stuff.

However, I was pleased to see the book then returned back to the point and the last few chapters become extremely exciting and the story peaks to a brilliant finale.

I would recommend this book to friends, however I would not rush to read it again.

Rating: 7/10
N.b without the great ending the book would be 5/10

Happy Reading
Em

Leave a Reply

