I Do Not Sleep

I Do Not Sleep – Judy Finnigan
http://blog.whsmith.co.uk/judy-finnigan-q-not-sleep/
Reviewed 10/08/2015

Judy-Finnigan-I-Do-Not-Sleep-cover

Book Description
Do not stand at my grave and weep;
I am not there. I do not sleep.

There is nothing more powerful than a mother’s love.

Five years ago, Molly Gabriel lost her twenty-year-old son, Joey, to a terrible sailing accident. His empty boat was washed ashore on the rocks, but his body was never found.
Now, Molly has returned to the sands of Cornwall haunted by his disappearance, unable to accept he is gone. Joey was an experienced sailor and died on a calm sea – things just don’t add up and Molly cannot let it go. Desperate for answers, she turns to Joey’s best friend, Ben, to try and find out what really happened that day…

 

I chose this book because of the links to the South West coastline, not only have I spent a lot of time here as a child but I now also reside in a city in this part of the UK. The book really takes you back and draws you in to the villages and beaches that Molly the main character visits with her family. 🙂

The book was a great read. After reading the first chapter I felt like I was in the middle of the book already familiar with the charecters and wanting to read on to find out what was happening. The rest of the book continued with a sense of flow. lots of little new pieces of information which helped you understand both the main character (and the sense of her loss) but also the feelings of her family. The book really highlighted how grief can effect people differently.

I loved the relationship which develops between Molly and Josie, Josie is a lady who lives in cornwall and has also had to deal with challenging events throughout her life. The friendship which develops shows how even throughout adulthood we can make the most wonderful friends 🙂

I was unsure about the Len’s character (a cornish charmer), this may be because its out of the norm and didn’t really fit with the beginning of the book. However as the book went on i became more conformable with Len and his input in the story.

Finally, Although a very sad theme the book is still a easy read and a great book for a summer holiday. I would recommend this to any female friend out there 🙂

Rating = 8/10

Happy Reading 🙂
Em

Leave a Reply

